The Western Region of the Alliance for Community Media (ACM) has announced the finalists in the 2009 Western Access Video Excellence (WAVE) Awards Competition. The Media Center boasts eighteen (18) finalists, five more than last year. In 2008, the Media Center had more finalists than any other access station. This year the Media Center is proud to “tie” with KMVT, our access friends in Mountain View. They also produced 18 finalists. This year, over half of the Media Center’s submissions were selected as finalists compared to just under half selected last year. Our powerful showing demonstrates that the Media Center continues to be a leader in the 90 member strong Western Region of ACM.

The winners will be announced on October 17, 2009, in Reno, Nevada at the annual ACM Western Regional Conference.

The finalists by division and category are:

In the Community Producers Division

  • Abilities United Presents Community Connections
    Programming by/for Differently Abled – Andrea Throndson
  • Bite Size Green
    Informational/Lifestyle Programming – Mary Bell Austin
  • Fredrico’s Kitchen – Real Cooking
    Instructional Programming – Fred Williams
  • Green Takes Action! – Green Schools
    Informational/Lifestyle Programming – Lorna Fear & Lauren Swezey
  • Hale I Ho’Omana
    Inspirational/Religious Programming – Jim Seawright
  • Jook Joint – Holiday Show
    Entertainment Variety – E.C. Scott and Gregg Mitchell
  • Jook Joint – Holiday Show
    Music Programming – E.C. Scott and Gregg Mitchell
  • Jook Joint – featuring Etta James
    Music Programming – E.C. Scott and Gregg Mitchell
  • Jook Joint – Ronnie Baker Brooks Video “Love Again”
    Music Programming – E.C. Scott and Gregg Mitchell
  • Nature Speaks for Itself
    PSA – Austin Tamaddon
  • Peninsula Women’s Chorus – Spring Concert 2009
    Performing Arts Coverage – Stanley Ng
  • Pushpanjali
    Performing Arts Coverage – Suresh Kondapalli and Teja Kondapalli
  • The Stephanie Herman Show – Dancing Behind the Scenes
    Performing Arts Coverage – Stephanie Herman
  • Suicide PSA
    PSA – Edoardo De Armas
  • Talking with Henrietta – Rehabilitating Parolees
    Talk Show/Issues – Henrietta Burroughs
  • The Theatre Factory
    Informational/Culture – Patricia Neme and Patty Page

In the Professional Producers Division

  • Media Center Studio Session: Fua Dia Congo
    Performing Arts Coverage – Karen Adams and Muisi-Kongo Malonga
  • San Jose Makes A Difference
    Municipal Government Access – Nancy Brown and Leah Lowrie

The Media Center swept the Community Producer divisions of both the Performing Arts Coverage and the Music Programming categories. Furthermore, the Music Programming Category was swept by E.C. Scott and Gregg Mitchell for their ground-breaking Blues video show The Jook Joint. The Media Center had two finalists in the Community Producer PSA category. Both PSAs were produced by youth in our community. Edoardo De Armas is a member of the Media Center’s Youth Advisory Council. Austin Tamaddon is a returning winning producer from last year.


Starting October 11, 2009, the Media Center will be replaying all its finalists on its three public access stations. Please check our schedule page for listings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *